1.6 Abbreviations


  • CHR - UN Commission of Human Rights: formulates resolutions/policy guidelines for the world.  Yearly session (March-April) in Geneva, Switzerland
  • CtteeHR - UN Committee on Human Rights composed of 13 legal experts. Receives complaints against governments; reviews Human Rights reports of governments; can give general comments
  • DPI - Department of Public Information of ECOSOC
  • ECOSOC - Economic and Social Council of the UN: with many commissions (like CHR, …)
  • ICCPR - International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (of the UN)
  • ICJ - International Court of Justice (of the UN) (The Hague, Netherlands)
  • UDHR - Universal Declaration on Human Rights (of the UN)
  • UNOG - United Nations Organization Office in Geneva, Switzerland
  • UNONY - United Nations Organization in New York, USA


  • CM - Council of Ministers (of the EU)
  • Commission - European Commission of the EU
  • ECJ - European Court of Justice (of the EU) (Luxembourg)
  • EEC  - European Economic Community: now part of the EU
  • EP   - (elected) European Parliament (of the EU: 25 countries) in Brussels and Strasbourg
  • EU  - European Union (25 European countries): economic and political union


  • CHR-CoE - Court of Human Rights of the CoE (Strasbourg, France)
  • CoE - Council of Europe (Strasbourg, France): human rights and parliamentary democracy: some 30 member countries
  • ECHR - European Convention on Human Rights (of the CoE) - with additional protocols
  • ECHR - European Commission on Human Rights (of the CoE) (Strasbourg, France), which is a filter to the Court of Human rights in Strasbourg
  • LAC - Legal Affairs Committee (with a sub-committee on human rights) (of the CoE) (Strasbourg, France)
  • PA - Parliamentary Assembly (of national delegates to CoE) (Strasbourg, France)


  • CO - Conscientious Objector/tion
  • COF - Campaña de Objeción Fiscal (Pamplona-Iruñea, Spain)
  • COMS - Conscientious Objection to Military Service
  • COMT  - Conscientious Objection to Military Taxation
  • CPTI - Conscience and Peace Tax International (Leuven, Belgium)
  • EBCO - European Bureau of Conscientious Objectors (Barcelona/Brussels)
  • NCPTF - National Campaign for a Peace Tax Fund (USA: Washington, DC)
  • NGO  - Non-Governmental Organization
  • NIPP  - Nos impôts pour la paix (Canada)
  • NWTRCC - National War Tax Resistance Coordinating Committee (USA)
  • NWFS - Netzwerk Friedenssteuer (Rauenberg, Germany)
  • OSM-DPN - Campagna Nazionale di Obiezione alle Spese Militari per le Difesa Populare Nonviolenta (Milano, Italy)
  • PTC - Peace Tax Campaign
  • QCEA - Quaker Council on European Affairs (Brussels, Belgium)
  • QUNOG - Quaker Office at UN (Geneva, Switzerland)
  • QUNONY - Quaker Office at UN (New York, USA)
  • VRAK  - AKtie VRedesbelasting (Antwerp, Belgium)
  • WTR - War Tax Resistance